Royalton Antigua

Starting at

$ 410

TripAdvisor Review

Based on 1658 review

See all

Home to 365 white-sand beaches one for every day of the year the tropical island of Antigua offers blissful beach weather year-round. Located in the West Indies Antigua is rich in colonial history with its sheltered bays having provided refuge to both buccaneer pirates and the famous Captain Horatio...

More details

Availability

Select the date of your trip

Property Info

Home to 365 white-sand beaches one for every day of the year the tropical island of Antigua offers blissful beach weather year-round. Located in the West Indies Antigua is rich in colonial history with its sheltered bays having provided refuge to both buccaneer pirates and the famous Captain Horatio Nelson. The newest all-inclusive resort in Antigua Royalton Antigua Resort and Spa offers travelers a luxurious escape with exceptional service and fine dining featuring flavors from around the world in an elegant setting. Nestled on a stunning private beach with breathtaking clear waters guests ca...

More details
Check-in starts at: 15:00

Check-out ends at: 11:00

Property Amenities

Pool and wellness facilities
Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, co
several
Elevator
Reception services
ConciergeLuggage storage
Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor tennis court or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional amenities at this campground include complimentary wireless InterBe sure to enjoy recreational amenities including an outdoor tennis court and a seasonal outdoor pool. Additional amenities at this country house include complimentary wireless Internet access, concieTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor tennis court or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional amenities at this campground include complimentary wireless InterBe sure to enjoy recreational amenities including an outdoor tennis court and a seasonal outdoor pool. Additional amenities at this country house include complimentary wireless Internet access, concieTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor tennis court or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional amenities at this campground include complimentary wireless InterTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access. Additional features at this bed & breakfast include tour/ticket assistance and bTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor tennis court or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional amenities at this campground include complimentary wireless InterTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access.Take in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access.Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor tennis court or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional amenities at this campground include complimentary wireless InterTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access. Additional features at this bed & breakfast include tour/ticket assistance and bBe sure to enjoy recreational amenities including an outdoor tennis court and a seasonal outdoor pool. Additional amenities at this country house include complimentary wireless Internet access, concieTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access. Additional features at this bed & breakfast include tour/ticket assistance and bBe sure to enjoy recreational amenities including an outdoor tennis court and a seasonal outdoor pool. Additional amenities at this country house include complimentary wireless Internet access, concieTake advantage of recreational opportunities offered, including a spa tub, a seasonal outdoor pool, and bicycles to rent. This farm stay also features complimentary wireless Internet access and tour/tTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access.Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, coTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access. Additional features at this bed & breakfast include tour/ticket assistance and bTake advantage of recreational opportunities offered, including a spa tub, a seasonal outdoor pool, and bicycles to rent. This farm stay also features complimentary wireless Internet access and tour/tTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as a 24-hour fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and gift shops/newsstands. Additional amenities at thisTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, coTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access. Additional features at this bed & breakfast include tour/ticket assistance and bTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, coTake in the views from a rooftop terrace and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access and tour/ticket assistance.Take in the views from a rooftop terrace and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access and tour/ticket assistance.Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor tennis court or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional amenities at this campground include complimentary wireless InterTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access. Additional features at this bed & breakfast include tour/ticket assistance and bTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access. Additional features at this hotel include concierge services and babysitting/chiTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, coTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor tennis court or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional amenities at this campground include complimentary wireless InterTreat yourself with massages and facials. Additional amenities at this Mediterranean bed & breakfast include complimentary wireless Internet access, tour/ticket assistance, and a picnic area.Cable TV serviceTake in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access.Take in the views from a terrace and a garden and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access.Take in the views from a terrace and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services.Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, coHead down to the water and enjoy a day at the private beach, or take advantage of other recreational amenities including an outdoor tennis court and a fitness center. This hotel also features complimeTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor tennis court or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional amenities at this campground include complimentary wireless InterTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, coTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, coTreat yourself with massages and facials. Additional amenities at this Mediterranean bed & breakfast include complimentary wireless Internet access, tour/ticket assistance, and a picnic area.Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, toHead down to the water and enjoy a day at the private beach, or take advantage of other recreational amenities including an outdoor tennis court and a fitness center. This hotel also features complimeTake in the views from a terrace and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services.Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a 24-hour fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and gift shops/newsstands. Additional amenities at thisTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as a 24-hour fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and gift shops/newsstands. Additional amenities at thisRelax on the private beach or enjoy other recreational amenities such as a spa tub and a fitness center. Additional amenities at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, concierge sePamper yourself with onsite massages or enjoy recreation amenities such as an outdoor pool. Additional amenities at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, wedding services, and touTake advantage of recreation opportunities such as an outdoor pool or take in the view from a terrace and a garden. Additional features at this hotel include complimentary wireless Internet access, toPamper yourself with a visit to the spa, which offers massages. You can take advantage of recreational amenities such as an outdoor pool, a sauna, and a fitness center. Additional features at this hotTake in the views from a terrace and make use of amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services.Relax at the full-service spa, where you can enjoy massages, body treatments, and facials. You're sure to appreciate the recreational amenities, including a health club, an indoor pool, and an outdoorBusiness center

Guest rating

TripAdvisor

Travelers rating
  • Excellent

    761

  • Very Good

    347

  • Good

    204

  • Reasonable

    151

  • Bad

    197

Travelers profile
  • Business

    29

  • Couples

    410

  • Solo travel

    24

  • Family

    378

  • Friends getaway

    227

Scores Summary
  • Cleanliness

  • Location

  • Rooms

  • Service

  • Sleep Quality

  • Value

Overall Disappointing Stay

Reviewed 3 december, 2021

Despite being extremely angry that my wife's special birthday was ruined because my arrangements were not acted on, such as birthdaycake requested never arranged by the concierge, I will keep the review honest. The hotel is advertised as either 4.5 or 5 star, I would say more like 3.5 with the potential to be 5 star, the complex is good, rooms ok but need upgrading if they want to reach 5 star, cleaning very low standard, and for the 1st 4 days not cleaned until well after 5pm despite being out of the room all day, no special touches like towel art, and things missed every day, far below acceptable standard, food ok but between warm and cold, the stakehouse is poor but the Caribbean is good, staff very friendly but all treat being given a tip as expected rather than a gesture of appreciation, management "what management?" get to you when and if they can be bothered and never seen around the hotel, they only contacted me following an email I sent to head office, and as a token for not sorting out the birthday cake asked if "my misses would like a bottle of wine" Beach and pool area very nice, entertainment needs improving as very low standard. Special occasions such as my wife's 50th birthday seem to be totally ignored unless you want to pay well over an additional £100, even though at check in they specifically ask if you are celebrating anything, so pointless question, despite complaining about these items nothing done, effectively just ignored. 2 shops on site which are ok but expensive ($11, £8 for a bag of crisps), we did have cause to contact security and Mr William was very prompt, and efficient but after being passed up the line all goes quite as requires us to keep chasing for an update. Antigua is very nice and we would strongly recommend a visit but steer clear of the Royalton unless they reduce their prices to reflect their present standing as we believe a 3.5 star hotel rather than 5 star as advertised, we have definitely stayed in better hotels for a lot less money. Also i would have expected far better from a Virgin Holiday, which I will be taking up with them.

mundayamanda16

Wow! Blown away. By far the best holiday I have been on.

Reviewed 3 december, 2021

What can I say! Incredible. My partner and I booked a 10night stay with Royalton. We haven’t been away for 2 years (because of COVID) and really needed a break. We decided to spend a bit of money on it and really make it a trip to remember. This is not the kind of money we usually spend on holidays. We got to the hotel and we’re greeted by the staff (yes, COVID is still a thing and yes there are temperature checks and hand sanitation areas everywhere) who were incredibly friendly and welcoming. We had a rum punch and baggage was taken to our room. The room is fresh, modern and clean. Large and comfortable bed, tv, fridge, air con, towels….everything you need. (Including a hair dryer & steamer) The pool is joined to the beach and is about a 2min walk from the rooms. You get towels there - but be quick because people really enjoy getting up at the crack of dawn to ‘reserve’ their sunbed *eyeroll*. If your not a Diamond member, you may not get a bed! On that note, there are certain areas that are for Diamond club members only, these are sign posted and you will quickly get ushered out if your not one. There are plenty of places to eat, the buffet had a large selection, but as you can imagine it gets a bit samey. Scores, is a great bar with simple but yummy food - tacos, wings, burger… Nibbles is right by the pool and great for a lunch time snack - hotdogs, burgers, wings… the Italian (can’t remember the name) this was so yummy. We had overheard people saying it wasn’t great but we really enjoyed it. But I guess it just goes to show, we all like different things!! The Carribean was lovely too, this is mostly reserved for the Diamond club but if you get in there early you will get a spot. Head for around 18:00/18:30. Drinks are great, don’t expect impeccable cocktails but they are still tasty. Remember they free pour, but you will get used to that. I enjoyed champagne everyday and don’t regret it. The martini bar is lovely but the martinis are sweet. They still went down a treat in the evening while beating my partner at cards. We also enjoyed a couple of trips to the casino, drinks are much better here (tonic from a bottle!!) although we didn’t strike it lucky, we still had a lovely time. The staff are incredible. I can not express enough how friendly and helpful they are. It really did make the trip, there is nothing worse than grumpy staff. Oo you get free paddle boards and kayaks - first come first served but you don’t have to wait too long. Please don’t be put off by the bad reviews!! This place is incredible and we would love to go back. COVID is still about, this country relies on tourism and is trying to protect that by being careful. Masks have to be worn indoors and you need to sanitise your hands regularly. This is to protect everyone. The people here are soo happy to have visitors back and will do anything to make sure you have a great time, not only in the hotel but on trips and in town.

880annabe

Wonderful Anniversary Vacation

Reviewed 3 december, 2021

This was my first time to Antigua and a Royalton Resort and it was wonderful! All of the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We actually stayed in one of their over-the-water bungalows and that was an experience that we will never forget. The food was good and the resort overall is beautiful.

Misspat614

Great beach - everything else, pretty terrible

Reviewed 2 december, 2021

Antigua itself is a beautiful island and somewhere we'll most definitely return, but not because of the Royalton. In fact, the reason we enjoyed our trip so much, was because we left the Royalton and ventured out elsewhere every day. In terms of things to do in Antigua, Shirley Heights, Nelsons Dockyard, Boat trips to swim with Stingrays and Turtles and dinners in some beautiful restaurants and scenic locations are an absolute must, just don't go to the Royalton. Now onto the hotel... For the positives, it's clean, modern and the beach area is lovely. The vibe team in the day (Devon in particular) are really fun guys and we had a receptionist try incredibly hard when hearing out our complaints, she must have hated every time we called or visited but it was out of her control. Along with Nigel at the Lobby bar who gave great service (with limited ingredients). That is where it ends. Our room wasn't cleaned for the final 3 days and before then had been serviced very late afternoon. Our mini bar was only restocked when we requested and tipped heavily for the privilege. We were told all restaurants were walk in, go to eat, told we needed a reservation, but only diamond club members could do so, not a problem, just don't lie to us in the first place. The diamond club is a rip off by the way, did it elsewhere, don't waste your money. Being made to wait for tables for almost 2 hours, being told it would be half an hour, then most of the menu being no longer available, when the restaurant was empty when we were called, asking for a table by the water (which was free, several were) being told we can't sit there, and treated like second class citizens. This wasn't just on one occasion. Then comes the food, don't eat there other than breakfast. The food is absolutely awful. Lukewarm at best, awful ingredients, tiny portion sizes in a la cartes and the staff are just lacklustre, paying no attention to service and completely transactional in their approach. We spent over $1000 USD on our trip eating out, because we couldn't eat at the hotel. Oh, the coffee shop actually made decent coffee too, that's about it. But don't ask for any bar service before 10am (not even soft drinks on the beach) because the staff just won't do it, even when they're stood there. The hotel likes to farm in parties of external guests on day passes, then give staff members sole responsibility of serving them, instead of the staying residents, this happened on numerous occasions, resulting in 30+ minute waits by the pool bar for a drink in the middle of the day. It's not the staff's fault, it's management. The ATM has been removed, kind of essential when you're having to go off site to get cash out, but don't worry, the hotel will allow you to withdraw at reception for a 10% surcharge. ($4 per transaction at any other ATM on the island). We also requested an ash tray for on our balcony, and were told numerous times one would be sent up, nope. Then comes the management. Well, apparently they'd tried to contact us about our complaints on day 3. We were only informed of this when checking out, despite numerous more complaints. We were told they called, no message was left, no note under the door, nothing. Apparently we're supposed to read minds. They acknowledged they could have done this though, but they also said they'd follow up on our complaints and email me, I haven't heard a single thing. Now I have requested a refund for the entire amount that we had to eat out during our stay, given we were all inclusive, we shouldn't have to go elsewhere to eat. I was told they'd respond on this. Again, nothing. Not a single person has attempted to get in touch, which doesn't surprise me, because this hotel and its staff are full of empty promises. When speaking to others in Antigua, including our drivers, staff at restaurants, on trips and even those on the beach, they have ALL heard of the poor food and service. We even had one that used to work there, get in touch with the hotel to complain on our behalf, who was more apologetic than the hotel management themselves. Now I could give you my recommendations of where to stay instead, Cocobay and Nonsuch being at the top of the list. There are many beautiful spots on the island, and the Royalton just might be the most overpriced (no more expensive than Cocobay) and worst on the island. What I don't want here, is a generic response from the hotel, saying they tried to help when we were there. They didn't. They didn't try and contact us or resolve anything other than at checkout and even then no follow up has come. What I want, having spent a quite extortionate sum on this trip, and basically the same again to make it not awful, is reimbursement. So please hotel management, do as you said you would and actually reach out to follow up my complaint and refund us for your inability to fulfil. And please, anyone thinking of staying here, just book elsewhere instead.

Mrjordanmason

Benidorm of the Caribbean

Reviewed 2 december, 2021

Shocking just shocking cheap and cheerful ex government run hotel, beach packed and full of tourists with the influx of boats full of party goers, jet skis are a constant noise Ali’s go with the day trip cruises

russhead