Hotel Palacio

Starting at

$ 115

TripAdvisor Review

Based on 805 review

See all

This hotel offers a privileged location, two blocks from the Cathedral Primada de America and right in the centre of all the historial and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the new world. Monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibitions and concerts will add interest to gu...

More details


Select the date of your trip

Property Info

This hotel offers a privileged location, two blocks from the Cathedral Primada de America and right in the centre of all the historial and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the new world. Monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibitions and concerts will add interest to guests' stay in this traditional city. Las Americas Airport is 25 km away. This 19th century hotel is a former property of Buenaventura Baez, who was president of the Dominican Republic several times over. It features 35 rooms, was rebuilt for the first time in 1990-1992, and is luxuriously decorated....

More details
Check-in starts at: 15:00

Check-out ends at: 11:00

Property Amenities

Reception services

Guest rating


Travelers rating
  • Excellent


  • Very Good


  • Good


  • Reasonable


  • Bad


Travelers profile
  • Business


  • Couples


  • Solo travel


  • Family


  • Friends getaway


Scores Summary
  • Cleanliness

  • Location

  • Rooms

  • Service

  • Sleep Quality

  • Value

Great Experience

Reviewed 8 november, 2021

This was my 2nd visit to the Boutique Hotel Palacio. My friends and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff is awesome! Always friendly, professional, and very helpful. The hotel is always clean and safe. All of our needs were met. Front desk staff, housekeeping, meal preparers, the guys assisting with are baggage’s, everyone was Awesome! We will definitely use your facility again and will recommend it to others. Thank you!


Great place, BUT

Reviewed 12 september, 2021

Beautiful and old historic property located in the Zona Colonial area of Santo Domingo, reminds me a lot of the French Quarter in my hometown of New Orleans. Nice and quiet, everything in the room worked and the hotel is located within walking distance of Parque Colon, a major supermarket, restaurants, cafes and other historical sites. While all of the employees were friendly and helpful, a couple of them hustled and solicited me for tips and that is a dealbreaker for a future stay and frankly, would not feel comfortable staying here for a long time. There is no need to do this and will not be staying here again on my next trip to Santo Domingo.


A Mix of Good and Bad

Reviewed 5 march, 2021

I have mixed feelings about the hotel. Here are some PROS and CONS that I hope helps others. PROS 1. The staff is fantastic. They are all friendly, welcoming, professional, and always willing to help. 2. The location is perfect. You are a couple of blocks away from the main park/plaza of the Zona Colonial. You are half a block away from a strip of stores and restaurants. The location cannot be better. 3. Good food. Many hotels offer free breakfasts, and if you are a traveler, you know those breakfasts aren't always the best. Well, this place gives you all kinds of food options, plenty, and very tasty. I was beyond content with it. CONS 1. Some of the doors have glass, and the light from the halls is bright. If you are sensitive to the light when sleeping, make sure you ask for a room with a solid wood door, and without glass. I did not bother me, but I am noting it for others. 2. The phone in the room did not work. Not a big deal for me, but I am still noting it. 3. The AC remote control does not work. To be clear, you can turn it on and off, and regulate the temperature, and that was enough for me, but the rest of the buttons did not work. 4. Poor WiFi. This was a particular challenge for me. I needed to work, and I could not from the room. I had to move to the ground level of the West Side of the building in order to get connection. The staff did acknowledge the signal on the east side of the building was not good. 5. The computers in the lobby are broken. Upon checking in, I asked if they had access to computers and printers, knowing that I would be needing them, and they said yes. As soon as I dropped off my luggage in the room, I came downstairs to use these computers, just for them to tell me they were not working. I did not understand why they would not disclose the information, specially because I had specifically asked about it. 6. Some of the rooms have a peculiar smell, like mold (but not sure what it is). This might be because it is an old building in the historical district. I am happy I checked the room before agreeing to it, because I was able to switch to one that did not smell. Beware. 7. The water faucet in the sink was impossible to use, literally. No matter how slow and careful you'd open the faucet, the water would splash all over. They definitely need to replace those sink faucets. 8. There are bugs and even small reptiles in the rooms. I saw tiny roaches, ants, geckos, and small insects flying inside the room. In all fairness, this is an old building, and you are in a country with tropical weather, where I supposed one should expect it. Despite the CONS outweighing the PROS, I am giving this place 4 out of 5 based on the service I received from its staff, the location, and the food.


Beautiful Hotel

Reviewed 5 january, 2021

I was searching for a good family hotel in Santo Domingo for a few nights and came upon this one. The reviews were fairly positive and I couldn't be more pleased with my choice. It's located right in the middle of Ciudad Viejo and within very short walking distance of a supermarket and cafeteria. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and I really loved the outdoor courtyards. The buffet breakfast was very decent also; coffee was on point. The only issues I encountered were a broken TV and ac unit. When I reported it to hotel, I was moved to another room. Other than that, I have no complaints. I would definitely recommend this hotels to others and stay here again.



Reviewed 1 july, 2020

Avoid this place like the plague, they stole my deposit!!!  Seriously. I left the hotel February 3rd after 4 nights. They took the deposit -over $400 - the day AFTER I left.  I didn’t know this until I got back to the UK and checked my card account.   I reported this  to Agoda customer services, who asked me to send them proof of my payment, which I did.  Then ignored my evidence and told me the hotel told them that I would receive my money back shortly.  That didn’t happen, so I chased Agoda again, who told me the hotel had told them a new date for when I would be refunded by.  This didn’t happen - again - and I asked Agoda what evidence the hotel provided of the alleged payment?   Agoda ignored this question, and simply advised me to contact the hotel, which I had already tried to do - the hotel haven’t replied to any emails.  What do Agoda expect me to do, fly to the DR to chase it up in person? Now, in July, still no refund or even any reply from the hotel, and no help of any kind from Agoda.  I provided evidence of the payment, and lack of any refund to the account. The hotel have provided no evidence of any refund, and Agoda have simply accepted the hotel’s lies without question. So, I guess the short review is this:    - Hotel= THIEVES  - Agoda = enablers