Hotel La Cantera

Starting at

$ 126

TripAdvisor Review

Based on 1140 review

See all

This charming hotel is located near to the town centre (only 650 m away). Set on top of a hill, the hotel affords beautiful and impressive views of the Perito Moreno Glacier. The hotel offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, and a highly competent bilingual staff who are able to meet the needs...

More details

Availability

Select the date of your trip

Property Info

This charming hotel is located near to the town centre (only 650 m away). Set on top of a hill, the hotel affords beautiful and impressive views of the Perito Moreno Glacier. The hotel offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, and a highly competent bilingual staff who are able to meet the needs of the most demanding guests. The hotel comprises a total of 20 rooms, including special suites and luxurious cabins. Facilities include: lobby with 24-hour reception, a restaurant, a bar, WLAN/Internet access and a safe. Room and laundry service are offered, as well as a bike rental service. Parki...

More details
Check-in starts at: 15:00

Check-out ends at: 11:00

Property Amenities

Reception services
Concierge

Guest rating

TripAdvisor

Travelers rating
  • Excellent

    644

  • Very Good

    360

  • Good

    97

  • Reasonable

    25

  • Bad

    15

Travelers profile
  • Business

    7

  • Couples

    697

  • Solo travel

    52

  • Family

    154

  • Friends getaway

    129

Scores Summary
  • Cleanliness

  • Location

  • Rooms

  • Service

  • Sleep Quality

  • Value

Refund is still pending since Mid March 2020

Reviewed 13 november, 2020

We had made a booking of two nights for two rooms through booking.com Confirmation number: 3525395534 but we had to cancel it due to Coronavirus pandemic since Mid-March but still no refund has been received despite many follows-up with booking.com as there is no way to contact the hotel directly, even through booking.com which is rather unusual. We could only find hotel telephone number but we we don't speak Spanish. Can the hotel provide email address so that we can prove to you that our refund is still pending and no response from the hotel to our request. We have been using booking.com for almost all our travel bookings but we must say their response on this particular refund is very poor. They keep asking proof of our payment and we shared the credit card statement for 3 times and still no progress. Moreover, their booking application won't allow us to contact the hotel directly from our cancelled booking. Sorry that I have to post it here but I have no other way to get the hotel's attention on our refund.

Nittaya11

Unresponsive

Reviewed 8 october, 2020

I have been struggling to get ahold of the hotel for a few months. Nobody is answering phone calls and emails and the website appears to be down. I have an upcoming stay that I’d like to cancel. I don’t recommend this hotel due to their lack of communication. I understand they’re suffering because of Covid, but the least they could do is respond.

BethTravels19

Average accommodations with a good view

Reviewed 21 february, 2020

This hotel is in need of a renovation. The sleeping quarters and bathroom are dated and old. Rooms remind me of a cabin in the woods. We only ate breakfast at this hotel. The breakfast buffet was also average. Eggs were scrambled and served lukewarm. I couldn’t eat anything else because of my dairy allergy. Front desk was professional and courteous. They helped us make dinner reservations in town. If you love to camp, this hotel may be suitable for you.

johmyu

Rooms really need a refresh.

Reviewed 17 february, 2020

Had a lake view room and yes a lovely view of the lake if you can ignore the big warehouse that has been constructed to the left. Service on reception very good. Breakfast were ok, typical Argentine fare, with lots of sweet stuff, eggs, ham,cheese, etc. Better than some breakfasts we’ve experienced. Location- really didn’t bother us being a short walk to the centre, less than 7 minutes down and 10 minutes up. They do offer a free transfer from 7.30pm till 11.30pm just let them know or have the restaurant call them to collect you. We didn’t use it as the walk was needed after dinner. hill on final part but nothing too bad. Noise can be heard in room next door which seems to be the norm in tourist hotels. Room far too hot and had to open the window, again the norm down south, why they can’t provide room fans I will never know. Alas the hotel is showing its age, with damaged furniture, broken handles, broken bathroom fittings, stains etc. It was clean though. Kettle and fridge in room. If they carried out a complete room refurbishment then it would be fine despite its location.

middlegam

Only consider if you have your own transport and even then......

Reviewed 12 february, 2020

Firstly El Calafate as a town does not do justice to its outstanding sightseeing in the area. Accommodation was not cheap and the hotel equates to an Australian motel. The hotel is located on the edge of town surrounded by industrial warehouses,abandoned blocks of land, and general shabbiness. There are unfinished footpaths leading to hotel. It is only a 10 minute walk to the main street but these are the most uninspiring streets you will ever walk. The hotel is all in the OK category , service, breakfast, room . We had a mountain room that overlooked a building site with wire fencing, there are other rooms with lake views and would have given us a better impression of the hotel.

andrea a